World Curling Report

Corey Chambers wins Atkins Curling Supplies Classic

Corey Chambers (Winnipeg, Manitoba) wins the Atkins Curling Supplies Classic, defeating Ty Dilello (Winnipeg, MB) 7-2 at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg, Canada. Chambers with Julien Leduc at third, Devon Wiebe and Stuart Shiells on the front end take home the $2,500CDN first place cheque along with 24.127 world ranking points, while Dilello receives $1,800CDN and 17.693 world ranking points for their second place finish.

Chambers opened the scoring stealing 1 in the first end, then forced Dilello to a single in the second end. Chambers scored 4 in the third end, then forced Dilello to a single in the fourth end to lead 5-2. After a blank end, Chambers scored 2 in the sixth end for the 7-2 win.

In the semifinals, Chambers defeated David Bohn (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 6-5 and Dilello defeated Trevor Loreth (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 6-1. David Bohn and Loreth earned $1,250CDN and 13.672 ranking points for their semifinal finishes. In the quarterfinals, Chambers defeated JT Ryan (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 7-3, Dilello defeated Dennis Bohn (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 8-4, while Loreth defeated Shane Vollman (Regina, Saskatchewan) 7-3 and David Bohn defeated Steen Sigurdson (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 7-5. Vollman, Ryan, Sigurdson and Dennis Bohn earned $800CDN along with 9.651 ranking points for their quarterfinal finishes.

Chambers went 3-2 in the 16 team triple knockout qualifying round. In their opening game, Chambers lost 7-5 to Dilello, losing again to Sigurdson 6-1 to drop into the C Event. Champbers responded with a 7-4 win over Daniel Birchard (Winnipeg, Manitoba), then won against Riley Smith (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 7-5, and then defeated Rob Atkins (Winnipeg, MB) 8-7 in the C-Qualifiers to advance to the playoff round.

Recent News

2020 Shorty Jenkins Classic Cancelled

2020 Shorty Jenkins Classic Cancelled

2020 AMJ Campbell Shorty Jenkins Classic presented by Jet Ice, VIA Rail and Choose Cornwall cancelled due to COVID-19 with plans to return in 2021 for the 25th anniversary.

Curling Blogs

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

To top ↑