Forums Menu

User: 
Pass:  

CurlingZone : Powered by vBulletin>
<smallfont><b><a href=CurlingZone > Chat Forums > General Curling Chat > Rock Talk > Rethrown stone?

Disclaimer: CurlingZone does not represent or endorse the accuracy or reliability of any Content posted on any Forums area and you acknowledge that any reliance upon such Content shall be at your sole risk. Any Content placed on any Forums area by users and anonymous posters are the views of the user posting the statement, and do not represent the views of CurlingZone or our partners, advertisers or sponsors. By posting anonymously, you are allowing your IP address to be displayed for identification purposes. CurlingZone reserves the right to remove any post at its discretion without warning or explanation.
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   Post A Reply
02-19-18 11:26AM
JGard911 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for JGard911 Find more posts by JGard911 Add JGard911 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JGard911
Knee-Slider

 

Registered: Feb 2018
Location:
Posts: 2

Rethrown stone?

At the start of the 8th end in the USA vs China womens Olympics match, a Chinese player was allowed to rethrow a stone after she hogged it (for the second time in the match), after consulting with an official. Can anyone explain why? There was no commentary during the match.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 11:32AM
AlanMacNeill is offline Click Here to See the Profile for AlanMacNeill Click here to Send AlanMacNeill a Private Message Find more posts by AlanMacNeill Add AlanMacNeill to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
AlanMacNeill
Super Rockchucker

 

Registered: Sep 2011
Location:
Posts: 1049

Yes,

It was the correct application of the procedure to appeal an electronically reported hogged stone.

Curling stones at the international level have electromagnetic sensors in them that detect when the stone crosses the hog line, and whether or not the athlete's hand is on the handle at that time. If the sensors detect the stone is still being grabbed at the time of the line crossing, red lights flash on the stone, and per rule, it must be IMMEDIATELY removed from play.

However, this technology is not perfect, and it does report false positives. As such, a team suffering this penalty can appeal to the umpire that they did not hog the stone and that it was a technical error from the sensor.

If that appeal happens, the stone is tested by the ice crew (essentially by running it over the hog line's magnetic strip), and if the ice crew confirms the error, then the stone is allowed to be redelivered.

That's what happened here. The red lights came on, the curler did not believe she hogged the stone, she appealed, and testing revealed she was correct, so she was allowed to rethrow.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 11:33AM
PeelOfShame is offline Click Here to See the Profile for PeelOfShame Click here to Send PeelOfShame a Private Message Find more posts by PeelOfShame Add PeelOfShame to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
PeelOfShame
Harvey Hacksmasher

 

Registered: Aug 2015
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 31

The Eye-on-the-Hog system malfunctioned. The officials tested the stone to confirm that the red lights came on erroneously, and that's when they allowed the re-throw.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 11:44AM
JGard911 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for JGard911 Find more posts by JGard911 Add JGard911 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JGard911
Knee-Slider

 

Registered: Feb 2018
Location:
Posts: 2

Thanks. I didn't see a red light flashing on the stone. Since they went back to the near hog line to test it, that makes sense.
Both rocks she hogged in the match came to rest short of the far hog line. I thought she was complaining that there was something wrong with the stone.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 11:59AM
Observer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Observer Find more posts by Observer Add Observer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Observer
Hitting Paint

 

Registered: Apr 2016
Location: River Falls, WI, USA
Posts: 163

I didn't catch the earlier one. When the second one happened, I checked to see what stone it was, and noticed that it's from the same set of stones that gave the apparently false positive result to Eve Muirhead yesterday. Eve's was red, sheet B, stone 3, and this one was red, sheet B, stone 2.
The difference was that this time, the officials were able to replicate the error, even though again they tested it on the hog line they happened to be standing closest to rather than the one where the error took place.

I'd suggest any team playing with that set of stones for the rest of the tournament ask the officials to keep a close eye out for further malfunctions.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 12:23PM
AlanMacNeill is offline Click Here to See the Profile for AlanMacNeill Click here to Send AlanMacNeill a Private Message Find more posts by AlanMacNeill Add AlanMacNeill to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
AlanMacNeill
Super Rockchucker

 

Registered: Sep 2011
Location:
Posts: 1049

There are *usually* spare handles which can be swapped out for problematic ones, in the middle of a game even (it takes like 2 minutes).

I'd be surprised if they didn't do that.

and JGard...the lights are *really* small, LED sized, they don't tend to show up on TV. but the sweepers and officials can see.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

02-19-18 01:20PM
dugless_zone 13 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for dugless_zone 13 Click here to Send dugless_zone 13 a Private Message Find more posts by dugless_zone 13 Add dugless_zone 13 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dugless_zone 13
Drawmaster

 

Registered: Jan 2005
Location: the Banana Belt
Posts: 899

At the Brier in Calgary the lights signaled an infraction in a game where a hogline violation was called against a team playing against Kevin Koe. The replay on the jumbotron clearly showed.the.lights were.faulty and Koe.pushed the rock back down the sheet and let him rethrow, overruling the call on the sheet.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is . Post New Thread   Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to thisThread

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

RECENT CURLING POSTS

Recent News

Recent
Anna Sloan Stepping Away as British Curling Announces Teams

Anna Sloan Stepping Away as British Curling Announces Teams

Scotland's Anna Sloan (photo by Anil Mungal) will take a break from curling to pursue other interests; To be replaced by Jennifer Dodds at third on Team Muirhead.

Curling Blogs

Facebook Feed

To top ↑